DVD Talk Forum

DVD Talk Forum (https://forum.dvdtalk.com/)
-   Movie Talk (https://forum.dvdtalk.com/movie-talk-17/)
-   -   DiCaprio...Maguire...'Third Man' Remake...WAT?! (https://forum.dvdtalk.com/movie-talk/563666-dicaprio-maguire-third-man-remake-wat.html)

dad1153 10-23-09 11:29 PM

DiCaprio...Maguire...'Third Man' Remake...WAT?!

Chud.com (can't post links yet since I'm a noob; can someone link it for me?) says that a remake of Carol Reed's "The Third Man" starring Leo DiCaprio and Tobey Maguire is sufficiently along in pre-pre-production for us to worry it will actually get made. :rolleyes: No director attached yet but an international mini-major (Studio Canal) and a screenwriter ("Eastern Promises'" Steve Knight) are already on board. This might explain why Criterion lists "The Third Man" (BD and DVD) as 'Out of Print' on its website. :(

JumpCutz 10-23-09 11:38 PM

Re: DiCaprio...Maguire...'Third Man' Remake...WAT?!

Here you go...

:sad:

I'm sure it'll be much better than the original. -wink-

File this one under rumor, but it's a pretty solid rumor or I wouldn't be running it. This is still early enough in the game that it could all fall apart, but it's also late enough in the game that it could be officially announced in a week or two.

Leonardo DiCaprio and Tobey Maguire might be starring in a remake of the classic Carol Reed film The Third Man, which is being written by Eastern Promises screenwriter Steven Knight. The package comes from Canal Plus and it's going out for bidding, and the bidding is likely to be fierce. That's a hell of a line-up, after all. And it's before they have a director in place.

The big question is who plays what? Would DiCaprio take on the lead role of Holly Martins, the pulp author who comes to post-WWII Vienna for the funeral of his friend Harry Lime, or would he take on Harry Lime himself, a shadowy figure immortalized by Orson Welles? My money's on Leo stepping into Welles' shoes and with Maguire playing Holly.