Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > International DVD Talk
Reload this Page >

Best international "upgrade" Blu-Ray?

Community
Search
International DVD Talk Intl. DVDs, Region Free Players, RCE, Hong Kong DVDs & More

Search this Thread

Old 08-20-12, 12:46 PM
DVD Talk Reviewer

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Didn't see a thread like this, but I'm new to region-free Blu-Rays and was wondering which existing Region B or C discs offer the biggest improvements over existing Region A discs? The Thing, for example, is known to have a crappy domestic Blu-Ray release, at least in comparison to the HD DVD. Also, this could apply to domestic films that haven't been released on Blu-Ray here yet.
Old 08-20-12, 04:45 PM

Received 77 Likes on 59 Posts
Re: Best international "upgrade" Blu-Ray?

Kung Fu Hustle - the UK disc is region free (including the extras), and the film is the uncut version that was released on the Axe Kickin' edition.

If you're a horror fan, then a lot of Arrow's releases are worth looking into, since they have interesting extras and packaging, and most of their titles either haven't or won't get a U.S. release.
Old 08-20-12, 06:26 PM
Banned by request

Received 778 Likes on 582 Posts

And in a rare case of a French release not being region-locked, I recently got Silent Hill. Typically they're all Region B (at least in the previous French releases I got), so I was pleasantly surprised by a region free release. Silent Hill not only has great picture and sound above the Sony US release, the second disc has a plethora of extras including and hour and a half documentary making of, in HD. There's also an hour long doc (all in English) on the concept of Silent Hill.
Old 08-20-12, 06:36 PM
DVD Talk Gold Edition

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

True, but Kung Fu Hustle still comes with an MPEG-2 encode, so picture quality is not a big upgrade from the DVD.