Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > International DVD Talk
Reload this Page >

Are these available? If so, what version is the best?

International DVD Talk Intl. DVDs, Region Free Players, RCE, Hong Kong DVDs & More

Old 05-11-04, 01:23 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hello everybody. I am a complete newbie when it comes to buying non R1 DVD's. I have never bought a single DVD that wasn't R1.

These are the items that I would love to have, but I can't really figure out either if they are available, or which version is satisfactory.

If somebody could point me towards decent releases of these movies, it would be much appreciated. All I really want is a decent transfer, original language audio track, and English subtitles where needed.

- The Brave (Depp)
- 21 Jump Street (Depp)
- Cry-Baby (Depp)
- Twin Peaks Season 2
- Xiu Xiu - The Sent Down Girl
- Fat Girl
- Hero (Jet Li)

Thanks!!!
Doug
Old 05-11-04, 01:49 PM

For your needs, I would recommend the Rewind Comparison Database, which does a pretty good job of comparing different regional releases of a wide range of films on DVD. Note that they only compare the "specs"--not the picture quality or audio quality, etc. (It doesn't appear that Cry-Baby has been released on DVD anywhere.)

For a database which compares screenshots of DVDs from different regions to decide which is the best version, I would recommend DVD Beaver. They mostly compare DVDs of arthouse and foreign films, though (and the database is still small since the process is more labor-intensive). For example:

Hero comparison

Finally, I would recommend a multi-region DVD price checker, such as DVD Price Check in the UK.

Best of luck.
Old 05-11-04, 02:53 PM

Thanks! Those are some very helpful links!!!

I have one question. Would I be able to play PAL discs on my computer? It looks like the only NTSC release of Fat Girl is the Hong Kong release, and it is Full Frame!
Old 05-11-04, 09:22 PM
DVD Talk Special Edition