Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > International DVD Talk
Reload this Page >

Trigger's Shipments and Reviews...

Community
Search
International DVD Talk Intl. DVDs, Region Free Players, RCE, Hong Kong DVDs & More

Search this Thread

Old 03-22-04, 04:53 AM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 7 Likes on 1 Post

The last thread was gettin kinda long, so I'll start a new one. The purpose of this is to keep me confined to one thread so I don't go cluttering up the forum. Past threads are all over the place, you can search for em if you like... I've been doing this for a couple years or so now.

Anyway - the latest shipment was expensive, but didn't include alot of DVDs cuz I picked up a couple of big ticket items - the Bruce Lee set (beautiful) and the Band of Brother set (very cool). I watched Band of Brothers and that was really good.

Tonight though, I watched Zatoichi 2003 'beat' takashi version. I picked up the R2 DVD from Japan. It comes in a 2 disc standard sized amaray case (flipper insert) with a pretty cardboard slipcase. It's nice looking anyway. The picture quality is kinda drab - a little washed out for a Japanese release. The sound was good though - 5.1 DD. The subtitles were also very well done and quite thorough.

The movie wasn't all that great. Kitano was fantastic as Zatoichi, but the film was very disjointed and dull at times. It seemed like 'the film that had ADD' sometimes as it would trail off away from any sort of story onto these long scenes that weren't really poignant nor artsy (neither of which would've fit with the tone of the film anyway). There were musical bits here and there that I really liked. The story was quite simple, although some of the characters seemed to lack any sort of motivation for their behavior or else there wasn't enough character development. True, it's a new take on a classic story, but a film should be able to stand on its own.