Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > International DVD Talk
Reload this Page >

Philips 727 problems [merged]

International DVD Talk Intl. DVDs, Region Free Players, RCE, Hong Kong DVDs & More

Philips 727 problems [merged]

Old 02-12-04, 12:04 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question about DTS on Philips 727--Help!

I posted this at the end of the Toshiba 3900/Philips 727 thread, but I don't know if anyone will wade through 5 pages to find it...

OK, maybe I'm misunderstanding something here, or I'm just a clueless dope, but I just bought a 727, and I popped in the LORD OF THE RINGS: FOTR extended edition. When I select the DTS audio track, I get NO audio at all. Same with the DTS track on OPEN RANGE. I don't have a separate receiver; I'm just running the audio through a normal Samsung 27" stereo TV. What am I doing wrong? Sorry if this is a stupid question, but I'm new to this. Thanks!
Old 02-12-04, 01:51 AM
DVD Talk Special Edition

Is this Jason Prichett??? That guy in the film biz out in LA???

If not, nevermind...

So what are you using to Decode the DTS signal??? The Philips doesn't have a built in decoder for DD or DTS. So if you don't have anything to decode it (aka an external reciever), then you WON'T get any audio.
Old 02-12-04, 01:55 AM

Originally posted by Heliosphann
Is this Jason Prichett??? That guy in the film biz out in LA???

If not, nevermind...

So what are you using to Decode the DTS signal??? The Philips doesn't have a built in decoder for DD or DTS. So if you don't have anything to decode it (aka an external reciever), then you WON'T get any audio.
Uh, yeah. That's me. Well, my last name is spelled PriTchett, but, yeah, that's me. Who are you? And how do you know who I am? I didn't think anybody knew who I was...

I was under the impression from reading on various websites that the Philips DOES have built in decoders for both DD and DTS. I get audio out of DD disks just fine. That's why I'm confused.
Old 02-12-04, 09:44 AM