DVD Talk Forum

DVD Talk Forum (https://forum.dvdtalk.com/)
-   International DVD Talk (https://forum.dvdtalk.com/international-dvd-talk-12/)
-   -   What's smarter: Buying a region free dvd player or buying a PAL to NTSC converter? (https://forum.dvdtalk.com/international-dvd-talk/212892-whats-smarter-buying-region-free-dvd-player-buying-pal-ntsc-converter.html)

PacMan2006 06-04-02 04:21 PM

What's smarter: Buying a region free dvd player or buying a PAL to NTSC converter?

Hy guys/gals,

I'm pretty new to this. I've been doing my best to find the best region free dvd player for the best price. I want a good one that is reliable and won't have playback problems.

The main reason I would get one is so I can play ALL kinds of dvd's regardless of region. Sure, disabled macrovision sounds good, and progressive scan dvd players are great, but I just want to be able to play a DVD from the UK or Hong Kong in good quality.

I've looked up Apex, Daewoo, Malata, Sampo, etc, and they all have their pro's and con's. Everytime I read a review or a message board post with something saying they love, for example, the Apex AD 600A, I read someone saying it overheats and the picture is questionable. I just don't know what to do regarding a region free dvd player. I want a very good one, but I don't want to break the bank either and everytime I read something good, I read one or two things about a player that is bad.

So it brings me to my question: Should I just try and buy a Sampo, Daewoo, Apex, etc and hope it works, or should I buy a converter? I'm know nothing about these PAL to NTSC converters, but if they deliver what they are supposed to do, it could be worth considering. But, I'd love to have your opinions here first!

Thanks in advance.

UAIOE 06-04-02 04:38 PM

From my limited research i have found that a stand alone PAL to NTSC converter costs more than a DVD player with one included in it.

I think the price of the few i saw was like $600+.