Community
Search
International DVD Talk Intl. DVDs, Region Free Players, RCE, Hong Kong DVDs & More

Amazon Japan?

Search this Thread

Old 12-24-01, 10:56 AM
DVD Talk Legend

Location: Second Star on the right, and straight on til' morning...
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Amazon Japan?

Anyone tried Amazon.co.jp ? Any coupons? Any issues with them?

I'm thinking of ordering Porco Rosso through them.
Old 12-24-01, 05:10 PM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 239 Likes on 175 Posts
I've done a lot of ordering from them in Japan and have had no problems.
Doesn't help you on the international side but I've had more problems with Amazon.com.
Old 12-24-01, 10:02 PM
DVD Talk Special Edition

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
As a US resident, I've ordered from them a few times and found them to be excellent, on par with such good retailers as cdjapn...
Old 12-25-01, 04:26 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
How do you guys order with them? I tried once and could not log in with my usual password and name.
Old 12-26-01, 02:58 AM
DVD Talk Limited Edition

You have to create a new account - your existing ID won’t work. Also it is pretty much essential to pass the site through an on-line translator such as www.altavista.com. Be warned though that it’s almost impossible to effectively use the search function: Be prepared to flick through lots of pages to get to what you want.

However they are excellent and very efficient and cheaper than CDJapan, especially their shipping costs.
Old 12-26-01, 07:21 AM
DVD Talk Special Edition

As he said. You need a new account with Amazon Japan. They are a different animal than Amazon.com. They do not accept regular Amazon coupons and rarely have any of their own. When they do it's usually for just a couple of hundred yen(a few dollars).