Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > HD Talk
Reload this Page >

HD movies on TV but not on Bluray

Community
Search
HD Talk The place to discuss Blu-ray, 4K and all other forms and formats of HD and HDTV.

Search this Thread

Old 01-19-10, 12:07 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I've looked for an answer online but haven't found one. I'm new to HDTV and recently bought a HDTV, PS3 and lots of Bluray movies. I know there are many titles I'd like to own that aren't on Bluray yet. However, I was watching Spike TV HD channel and saw the movie Breach and all the newer Star Wars episodes. These movies aren't available on Bluray but appear on network TV. They don't look upconverted from DVD as the quality is much better. Typically with DVDs, any movie that appears on network TV already has a DVD release. Clearly this isn't the case with Bluray. Any reason why? I believe my only option is to watch these movies in HD on network TV until the Bluray version is released. My thinking was that it takes time to do a proper conversion to HD and then movies are released on Bluray. Appears many movies are already in HD but only with network channels.

Last edited by laseca; 01-19-10 at 12:30 AM.
Old 01-19-10, 01:40 AM
DVD Talk Godfather

Received 1,016 Likes on 840 Posts
Re: HD movies on TV but not on Bluray

There are some that I'd love to have on Blu, like LOTR and The Incredibles. But the 2.35s tend to be cropped to 1.78 for broadcast. I tried watching LOTR that way but it was too distracting.
Old 01-19-10, 02:24 AM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

It's been common practice for the last several years to transfer movies to video in high definition, then downconvert them for DVD release. This goes back to before HD DVD and Blu-ray existed, so that they could, in fact, be broadcast on HDTV networks.