Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > HD Talk
Reload this Page >

Questions about PS3 blu-ray and HDTV - Help!

Community
Search
HD Talk The place to discuss Blu-ray, 4K and all other forms and formats of HD and HDTV.

Search this Thread

Old 07-16-08, 11:54 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

This might be a dumb question but I'll ask anyway as I am a HDTV newbie.

I just bought my first HDTV, a 37' Samsung 720p LCD HDTV that looks great. I have a normal DVD player and I just bought a PS3 (80 GB Metal Gear Solid Bundle). I bought the PS3 HDMI cord and will soon get an optical cable for it for audio. I have seen Blu-ray discs played on displays and a movie (Pirates 2 is the one I saw) looked awesome and looked like it was basically a live shot on the news or something. I was under the impression that is how it would look on my PS3 with an HDTV and HDMI cable. I rented Batman Begins on Blu-ray from blockbuster last night and from what I can tell, other than the picture looking really good and super clear, I can't see the "live shot" effect. Earlier in the day at Sam's, they had Batman Begins as a demo and I watched it for a minute and saw the effect I'm talking about. So here are my questions:

1)When I hooked up my PS3 to the HDTV does it automatically work correctly in regards to that type of a display or do I have to manually adjust either the PS3 or the TV to make it look like that? If so, how?

(2)Also, will I get that effect on a 37' 720p LCD or is that only for 1080p OR plasmas? In other words, was I mistaken on what my picture would look like based on me seeing it on a gigantic demo TV?

Any help is appreciated.
Old 07-16-08, 12:51 PM

A 720p picture on a 37" HDTV should not be appreciably worse than a 1080p on a larger set.