DVD Talk Forum

DVD Talk Forum (https://forum.dvdtalk.com/)
-   HD Talk (https://forum.dvdtalk.com/hd-talk-55/)
-   -   When will this end? (https://forum.dvdtalk.com/hd-talk/516490-when-will-end.html)

PrinceTom 11-06-07 06:45 PM

When will this end?

I am pretty new to the BluRay/HD debate. I have been looking around and seen a lot of different stuff about this format battle.

Id appreciate if someone can just explain to me the nature of this situation.

It doesn't seem like its possible for this to last. I can't believe its gotten this far. So Is this going to end? Is one going to win out over the other? Are they going to combine in some way?

Please explain...thanks a lot.

-T

True_Story1011 11-06-07 06:48 PM

probably as soon as everyone stops asking this question.

:horse:

TheMovieman 11-06-07 06:50 PM

How long has there been a battle between cable and satellite? Isn't that kind of the same kind of "war"? They both offer the same kind of thing but go about it differently. One has exlusives the other does not. I think this is something if viable for both parties could continue and co-exist and quite frankly, I think it's better that way so that one does not have a strangle-hold in the HD arena. But maybe I too am misunderstanding it...

Music 11-06-07 06:56 PM

NEVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

or 5 years, 1 month, 2 weeks, 1 day... whichever occurs first.....

clemente 11-06-07 07:51 PM

No sooner than 17 months from now.

The Edit King 11-06-07 08:29 PM

WOW, PT! :eek:

You've been here a LONG time! :up:

I don't understand why there has to be a 'winner' or just one HD (DVD) provider.

'2' seems like a good number. :lol:

I own both systems and I (for one) am most contented and happy about it.

The Bus 11-06-07 08:35 PM

If you're waiting for the time when all movies or studios may be under one banner, that will probably never happen. If it does, it won't happen fully until 2010 or later. If ever.