DVD Talk Forum

DVD Talk Forum (https://forum.dvdtalk.com/)
-   HD Talk (https://forum.dvdtalk.com/hd-talk-55/)
-   -   Just got my A2 questions (https://forum.dvdtalk.com/hd-talk/511344-just-got-my-a2-questions.html)

Wolf359 09-08-07 09:39 AM

Just got my A2 questions

Hopefully none of this is too stupid. I'm still new to this and appreciate any help.

I traded in my 360 Add-on for the A2 and I just can't notice a difference in quality like I thought I would. I downloaded all the firmware updates and have it hooked up using HDMI to my Westinghouse 42" lcd.

Now for maybe a really stupid question...

How do I know if my monitor is upscaling to 1080p? When I bring up the signal info, it says 1080i. When I had my Add-on hooked up through VGA, it said 1080p.

Just wanting to make sure there isn't something else I can do to increase my pq.

Th0r S1mpson 09-08-07 09:56 AM

If you already had 1080p, where did you expect an increase in quality to occur?

I believe the best thing you can do to increase your PQ will be to calibrate your monitor properly with something like Video Essentials. The importance of this is often underestimated.

Also, if your signal is outputting 1080i, I'm not sure there is such a thing as upscaling it to 1080p. You would need a 1080p source to take advantage of any benefit. I could be wrong on that though. My set only displays 1080i so I haven't read up on everything regarding 1080p. I know some people say there is no difference based on the source.

Wolf359 09-08-07 10:02 AM

Well I thought the increase in quality would come from a dedicated Hd player. I guess I thought the A2 alone would produce a better image.

And I understood that my monitor would take the 1080i signal and deinterlace it to 1080p. Is this wrong?

Th0r S1mpson 09-08-07 10:09 AM

That probably depends on your monitor. If you are looking at signal info, it is probably telling you the source that is coming in.