HD Talk The place to discuss Blu-ray, 4K and all other forms and formats of HD and HDTV.

HDMI cable for 3 bucks? What gives...

Old 03-25-07, 01:03 PM
DVD Talk Hero

HDMI cable for 3 bucks? What gives...

I've never used an HDMI cable before but if I pick up an HD player soon I will be getting one... they tend to be expensive as we all know.

So when browsing on Amazon and I came across this, I was surprised. Misprint? What gives?

http://www.amazon.com/HDMI-Super-Res...4845593&sr=8-1

Would this be a waste of money or what?

Here is another one:
http://www.amazon.com/Cables-Unlimit...4845593&sr=8-2

The reviews are all great, but I don't trust an average joe on Amazon to give me a good quality review.

What do people here do for HDMI?
Old 03-25-07, 01:05 PM
DVD Talk Limited Edition

Get whatever monoprice.com is selling. They work great and are cheap.
Old 03-25-07, 01:10 PM
DVD Talk Hero

This one for $5.25? Really?

http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...ormat=2&style=
Old 03-25-07, 01:32 PM
DVD Talk Hero

Yes, really. If not, Fry's had one on sale for $17.99 on Friday when I went in. Don't believe the $79.99 price that Best Buy has!
Old 03-25-07, 01:36 PM
DVD Talk Hall of Fame

^ Yes, really. Although I haven't purchased that particular cable, check out the 69 user reviews here:
http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...mat=4#feedback

Like many others here I get all my cables from monoprice.com. The quality for the price can't be beat, so far as I have seen.

Overpriced accessories, such as cables, are a major money maker for electronics stores. You don't have to play their game.

Last edited by lizard; 03-25-07 at 01:42 PM.
Old 03-25-07, 01:48 PM
DVD Talk Limited Edition

Originally Posted by Thor Simpson
Yes, really. They even have them cheaper sometimes. Quick shipping, too.
Old 03-25-07, 02:21 PM
DVD Talk Special Edition

Monoprice is definately the way to go.
Old 03-25-07, 02:34 PM
DVD Talk Special Edition