Search
DVD Talk Talk about DVDs and Movies on DVD including Covers and Cases

DVDs: How many is too many?

Search this Thread

Old 10-27-07, 12:27 PM
DVD Talk Gold Edition

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
According to DVDAf, I have 458 titles.

Is it a lot? Yes. Do I think it's too much? No. As long as I feel it's something that I like (or would like, in the case of blind buys) and would be willing to watch more than once, it's worth the purchase.
Old 10-27-07, 01:11 PM
DVD Talk Platinum Edition

Originally Posted by tommyp007
same for me.
I don't even concern myself with storage, but at 350+ DVDs, it's now becoming an issue. Good thing I freed up a bit of space by selling off Angel and getting the complete series set .
Old 10-27-07, 05:42 PM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
I've been buying since around fall of 1999 and my collection is currently at about 2226 (thanks DVD Spot), plus I just got an HD player today so the numbers are likely to grow larger. I wouldn't want to part with any films I own, but every now and then I do a "crap check" to see if there's anything that I really shouldn't own. Right now there is: Rush Hour 1 and 2. Expect to see those in Amoeba's used bin come Sunday.
Old 10-27-07, 06:12 PM
DVD Talk God

Received 3,640 Likes on 2,613 Posts
If your chatting on this forum regularly, you probably own too many DVD's.

As long as I maintain my passion for movies, I will never get tired of buying and renting lots of DVD's.

But to keep things real, if space starts to become a problem, then you have too many DVD's.
Old 10-27-07, 06:18 PM

im kind of in the same situation that your in, while my collection is much large (around 300ish)

i do sometimes think "why buy the simpsons, or south park, ect." i see them everynight b4 i go to bed.

what i do usually, is borrow from friends some things on my want list to reduce the size. and if i dont watch a certain movie anymore i sell it.