DVD Talk Forum

DVD Talk Forum (https://forum.dvdtalk.com/)
-   DVD Talk Archive (https://forum.dvdtalk.com/dvd-talk-archive-54/)
-   -   DVD cuts into other Media: USA Today (https://forum.dvdtalk.com/dvd-talk-archive/340008-dvd-cuts-into-other-media-usa-today.html)

tjn007 01-08-04 05:24 PM

DVD cuts into other Media: USA Today

Here's a real interesting article on the success of the DVD format and what impact it may be having on the music, television and movie industries. Maybe were not the only fanatics out there when it comes to DVD.

Here's the link:

USA Today: DVD's success steals the show

gutwrencher 01-08-04 05:32 PM

This year, movie fans spent an estimated 67 hours watching discs; that is expected to jump another 46% over the next four years to about 98 hours per person per year {ndash} nearly a DVD a week,
wimps!! we maniacs are a rare breed:D. I graduated from the university of fanaticism a few years ago, then moved straight to the room with rubber walls.

sataniko 01-08-04 05:53 PM

I guess i'm four years ahead of most people, I'm sure that I watched much more than 98 hrs of DVD's.

unbeeleebable 01-08-04 06:28 PM

67 hours this year...mmm now lets see I think I, actually I know I did more than 67 hours in December alone!!

:D

speedy1961 01-08-04 06:29 PM

I try to watch at least one hour of DVD content each day. I watch more when I have a series set. You do the math and I'm sure that you'll see that there are plenty of us "high DVD content watchers" out there.

MasterofDVD 01-08-04 08:29 PM

nearly a DVD a week,
That is freaking funny. I'll watch an entire season of a tv show, 23 or 46 minutes for each show, in a day. I knew I was far from normal but I'll way off on this one.

Since the middle of December I've been working on a backlog of DVDs. Watched 4 movies plus extras yesterday and I'm all caught up until Frasier and Cheers Season 2 get here.

milo bloom 01-08-04 08:31 PM