Community
Search

Hmmmmm, DVD scratches????

Search this Thread

Old 07-03-03, 05:57 PM
Needs to contact an admin about multiple accounts

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Hmmmmm, DVD scratches????

Hi all! I am a DVD novice, having only had my player since Christmas. Today, I got a DVD set of BUFFY THE VAMPIRE SLAYER which was listed on eBay as used, but in "mint" condition. The set looked reasonably good but the first disc has some scratches on the playing side.

Now, if this were a vinyl record, I would know exactly where to listen for the defects from damage on the vinyl disc (LP). But since this is a DVD, does anyone know if the damage, if any, would show up in the beginning or in the end of the disc? The scratches are near the center hole and on the data section (or silver part). What kind of defects should I look out for? And finally, if there is damage to the data, is there any kind of cleaning system that fixes this kind of damage (I know that sounds like wishful thinking, right)?

Thanks in advance!

Gala
Old 07-03-03, 06:14 PM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Take a skip doctor to it.

It'll get the scratches right out. Once I had a CD in my car, under my seat for almost a year...looked dead. I put it in the skip doctor and BAM - it worked.

amazing
Old 07-03-03, 08:20 PM
Needs to contact an admin about multiple accounts

Thank you! I assume this can be purchased anywhere...like MediaPlay, etc?
Old 07-03-03, 08:40 PM

Don't you hate when the products aren't as advertised? You need to take this up with the original owner. Mint means mint and mint does not meant scratches. I've had similar problems where like new equals scratches and even a missing disk!!!

For the most part, scratches don't affect much. DVD can have nasty scratches and surprisingly still plays fine. However, that's not my criteria. If its advertised as like new or mint then it should be just that.
Old 07-04-03, 01:23 AM
DVD Talk Legend

Originally posted by Kimiakane