Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > DVD Reviews and Recommendations
Reload this Page >

2009: LOST MEMORIES LE (korean dvd)--my attempt at a review

Community
Search
DVD Reviews and Recommendations Read, Post and Request DVD Reviews.

Search this Thread

Old 09-29-02, 08:45 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Part SCI-FI movie, part action flick, part drama. If it had some romance in it, it would be perfect. NAH, this movie is great just the way it is. Before I get to the review part of this, I can say this about the movie, AN UNLIMITED SUPPLY OF BULLETS is what this movie contains, I LOVE IT!!!!!

THE PLOT (I'll keep it brief, and not include spoilers so if this synopsis seems halfassed. i apologize, i'm a cop, not a writer):
In the year 2009, what would Korea be like if it were actually taken over by Japan way back in the day? Imagine that the US and Japan were allies during WW 2, atomic bombs were dropped on Berlin in order to stop the war. Japan eventually becomes a main member of the United Nations, and that the Korea that we know and love today, becomes an alternate version of itself, and basically becomes part of Japan. Even the Koreans have Japanese names, and downtown Seoul looks like, well, downtown Tokyo. Well, this film gives you an idea of what it might be like.
My man, Jang Dong-Gun plays SAKAMOTO (it was a trip to see and hear him speak Japanese for most of the movie), a member of the JBI (japanese bureau of investigation) and his partner SAIGO, played by Toru Nakamura, are on the trail of a Korean liberation group that has resurfaced in 2009 in another attempt to free Korea from Japanese rule.
Throughout the film, the two men's friendship is tested as Sakamoto begins to feel sympathy for the Korean group that he is after and Saigo tries to keep it real with his partner and do his best to ensure that Japan still maintains control of Korea.