Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > DVD Reviews and Recommendations
Reload this Page >

Incredible Hulk DVD review

Community
Search
DVD Reviews and Recommendations Read, Post and Request DVD Reviews.

Incredible Hulk DVD review

Search this Thread

Old 04-20-01, 01:21 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I remembered seeing a thread where someone mentioned wanting a review of the recently released Incredible Hulk DVD. I just got mine, so here goes...

It's Region 2+4 in PAL format, so you may have trouble viewing this in the US. I watch mine on a Sampo 620 and it plays fine on my NTSC TV. I'm no expert at reviews, so I'll just tell you straight out what I liked and what I didn't...

What I liked-
Although a better picture could've been used for the front cover, the artwork is nice. Has a card inside with pictures (same as ones on cover) and descriptions
of each episode.

I thought the video quality was great. Far better than the noisy, washed out Columbia House videos. If viewing on a NTSC TV, this will of course depend
on your PAL>NTSC conversion. My player does a good job at it, but I've heard some players don't (do a good job) and most don't do it at all. I tried using
my worldwide VCR to perform the conversion and it was no where near the quality of the DVD player's.

A cool little intro before the menu comes up. The menu is just a still, but the ending theme (which I love) plays while you wait.

Includes the original preview of each episode, which is cool. There are chapter stops each time it fades away to where the commercials would be.

What I didn't like-
The selection for the 3 episodes is strange. They are 3 consecutive eps from the middle of the 2nd season. None of which are ones I would have picked, but
I enjoyed them all ("Haunted" is a good twist). Also, I think more episodes could have been included. Three 45 min eps isn't too shabby when you consider