DVD & Home Theater Gear Discuss DVD and Home Theater Equipment.

Speakers for Marantz SR7000

Old 04-07-01, 03:47 PM

I am a HT newbie trying to set up my first HT system. I just brought a Marantz SR7000 from my friend who is upgrading to a Marantz pre/pro setup. I love the sound of this receiver but that was with a $4K set of KEF speakers.

My budget for speaker is about $1500. The problem is I have very limited time to go out to audition all different type of setups. I would like to hear from people who has this receiver or have speakers that is in this price range so I could narrow down my choice.

The rest of my equipements:

Toshiba TW40X81 RPTV
Toshiba SD5109 DVD

This system will be setup in my family room, size is about 20x25. HT "designated conner" is about 20x10. It will be used 60/40 (movie vs music). I mostly listen to rock (nothing too heavy) and some classical stuff.

Thanks for your time and help !

Regards,
David
Old 04-07-01, 05:38 PM
Cool New Member

David, I had your exact same question (check the thread http://www.dvdtalk.com/forum/showthr...hreadid=92530) and as a matter of fact I have your exact setup (Toshiba 40H80 and SD5109 DVD player). I'm also looking for speakers although for now I'm just going to get a pair of good front speakers.