DVD & Home Theater Gear Discuss DVD and Home Theater Equipment.

Yamaha YHT-23

Old 03-28-01, 03:37 PM
DVD Talk Platinum Edition

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Hello All, Im a newbie to the forum whos been collecting DVDs since Oct 97. I havent had the cash to buy a home theatre till now. Im waiting for said system to arrive on Mon 4/1. how do the "HT in a boxes" sound vs. some of the huge systems that alot of others have that cost more than I make in a year. Nice meeting you all.
Old 03-28-01, 04:58 PM
DVD Talk Special Edition

In general, HTIB systems are less powerful, fewer featured options for (a) people who don't know anything about home theater or (b) people interested in an inexpensive starter system to build on.

If you're looking to get an impressive sound system, it is highly unlikely you will get it from an HTIB. Moreover, there are many crappy HTIBs and very few good HTIBs, so you need to shop carefully. Most people who buy HTIB aren't interested in researching their purchase, though, so many low-end systems are sold -- and few high-end systems are offered because they'd never sell.

If you're looking to start building a home theater and you don't want to break the bank, I think HTIB can be an efficient way to start, especially for ease of shopping and setting up. However, most people eventually replace components one-by-one as they can afford to, because they begin to notice the limitations and cut corners. So, if you're serious about HT, and you know how to research and assemble a home theater system, it's better to spend the extra money now rather than having to buy an entirely new system when you're dissatisfied with your HTIB.

The biggest limitation IMHO with a HTIB is the speakers, which are usually not that good. They are small to begin with, and with the capabilities of Dolby Digital and DTS, cheap speakers can ruin the effect.