Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > DVD & Home Theater Gear
Reload this Page >

Total NEWBY HT advice....

Community
Search
DVD & Home Theater Gear Discuss DVD and Home Theater Equipment.

Total NEWBY HT advice....

Search this Thread

Old 01-30-01, 03:08 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Hey folks,

I see a few other posts about this but I'll get even more specific:

My set up is pretty decent right now thanks to the addition of a SONY WEGA tv I got over the summer...nearly killed myself getting it up the stairs into my shack....that SOB is HEAVY but worth every penny What a picture!

Running the DVD through my current reciever with a Boston Accoustics sub & satelites for a decent experience, but I know it could be much better with a home theater set up.

> :

QUESTION: are those home theater's that come all in one package worth it or should I be buying my HT in pieces like my entire stereo?

A) It has to power all my other components
B) Not looking to spend more that about $600
(am I dreaming here with that price ceiling?)

What kind of wattage are we looking at & I guess it would be foolish not to get a reciever that could handle DTS right?

thanks in advance....

"THE SLEEPER HAS AWAKENED"
Old 01-30-01, 03:22 PM
DVD Talk Hall of Fame

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Does everyone see where it says
quote:<HR> :<HR>

in the message above?

Well, it's supposed to say

quote:<HR>((That march job bonus $$$ is already burning a hole in my not yet filled pocket)) :<HR>

Just thought I'd point that out.
Old 01-30-01, 03:23 PM

I would advise to purchase your HT components seperately. Maybe I'm reading your post wrong, but I assume you are just looking for a receiver. Is this correct?

You can find the Yamaha HTR-5280 for around $505 online (I think at Etronics). It puts out 100W per channel, has 5-channel audio, features a DD and DTS decoder, and it can handle 6.1 matrix ES/EX. For more information on it, click the link below.