Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > DVD & Home Theater Gear
Reload this Page >

LG BD590 or Panasonic DMP-BD85k??? Help!

Community
Search
DVD & Home Theater Gear Discuss DVD and Home Theater Equipment.

Search this Thread

Old 12-01-10, 02:31 AM
Cool New Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I am brand new to this and I want to get my parents a Blu-Ray player for Christmas.

I have narrowed it down to these two based on reviews and the price. I know they would like the streaming Net Flix and YouTube and my Dad would probably dig the 250G on the LG to build a music library...

I just don't know. Any thoughts..I lean one way and then read another review and lean the other way..I'm kind of going crazy and just need to choose!!

I am interested in ease of use (for them) I will set it up, but once I'm gone they're on their own and not very tech savvy to say the least. (They had The Geek Squad come out to their house cuz the sound was funny...the wires in the back of the TV were loose..)

They love movies and my Pops digs the internet...if I can get it together for them, I think they will really love it.

They just bought a new Samsung 52" LCD...nothing 3D, they hate that kind of thing..just movies and TV with great picture and sound...

Thank you so much!
Old 12-01-10, 02:49 AM
Cool New Member

Re: LG BD590 or Panasonic DMP-BD85k??? Help!

Oh, also, which is better at upscaling and WiFi....seems like LG..I'm leaning LG...anyone?
Old 12-02-10, 04:13 AM
Cool New Member

anyone? Bueller?
Old 12-02-10, 05:44 AM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

You're getting this impatient when you're asking a question at 3:30 in the morning? Really?

I've owned the Panasonic and can tell you it's a fantastic player. Very reliable and excellent quality.

I've never been a fan of LG. And Panasonic is a co-inventor of the Blu-ray format.
Old 12-02-10, 01:08 PM
DVD Talk Hall of Fame

Received 314 Likes on 215 Posts