DVD & Home Theater Gear Discuss DVD and Home Theater Equipment.

Decent starter speakers for HT AND music?

Old 08-22-00, 07:29 AM

I'm moving into a new apartment and I would like to buy some new hardware to come with me. I am brand new to home theater but I am really into music, so I need a setup that will function well for both functions.

I'm looking at the Pioneer HTP-209 system at Costco ($389) but will probably want to immediately replace the main speakers with something more music-friendly. Can anyone recommend a pair of speakers that might fit the bill for rock, jazz, classical music as well as HT, as well as how I might be able to find some BARGAINS on them? My price range is about $300-600 for the pair.

Or perhaps a better option would be to not even bother with the Pioneer package, buy a decent receiver for less money, some good main speakers, and some lower-budget rear and center speakers?

Let me know what you think. Thanks.
Old 08-22-00, 09:41 AM
DVD Talk Special Edition

I would reccommend the Toshiba SD 6109C. It is a DVD player/Receiver. It has built in DD/DTS and 55 watts per channel.

For speakers I would go with some Paradigms. Maybe some Mini Monitors for the fronts since you are more concerned with music. Or you could get 3 pairs of Atoms which are great speakers for the money, but wont give you as much bass output. I would still reccommend you listen before you buy though.

Cost:
Toshiba SD6109C=$275-350
Paradigm Mini Monitors=$325-350 pair
Paradigm Atoms=$125-175 pair

Old 08-22-00, 10:33 AM
DVD Talk Platinum Edition

Don't forget the subwoofer! OH wait, you live in an apartment right?
Old 08-22-00, 12:21 PM

If you're going to buy new main speakers, you probably would want to go ahead and get a good center channel to match. The Paradigm Mini's are good speakers for about $300, and you can get the matching center channel for another $300.