Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > DVD & Home Theater Gear
Reload this Page >

Opinions on Cambridge Soundworks

Community
Search
DVD & Home Theater Gear Discuss DVD and Home Theater Equipment.

Opinions on Cambridge Soundworks

Search this Thread

Old 07-11-00, 01:23 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Hello.

I am a poor college student on a limited budget. I currently have a Toshiba SD1200 DVD Player an a Dolby Digital Pioneer Receiver (the vsx-d557) that outputs 100watts/channel and has a line output for subwoofer.

However, for a year my roomates and I have been using a thrown-together speaker setup comprised of our parents old tower speakers from when they where in college for the fronts and rears and a random tower speaker somebody was throwing away for the center (no subwoofer).

So needless to say, its time I buy some real speakers. I was looking at the Cambridge Soundworks Movieworks 5.1 setup. For $1450, it seemed like a good deal. I liked the idea of being able to screw all the speakers into the wall to get them out of the way. However then everything went on sale, and the guy at the local Cambridge Soundworks can give me this setup for $1450:

Mains: Tower II (their second-best mains)
Center: Centerstage (their best center)
Surrounds: Surround 5.1 (their best surrounds)
Subwoofer: BassCube 10 (I don't want the 12)

So I was just wondering what peoples opinions were on Cambridge Soundworks stuff, and if this seems like a good deal.

The room the setup will be going in next year is pretty small, its the living room of an on-campus college apartment. I don't know the dimensions off hand.... I'd say its about the size of a usual testing room at a place that sells home theater stuff. Maybe slightly bigger.

Like I said, small speakers would be nice to get them out of the way of all the college partying, but i could deal with having floorstanding ones too.