Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > DVD & Home Theater Gear
Reload this Page >

Home Theater on a college student budget

Community
Search
DVD & Home Theater Gear Discuss DVD and Home Theater Equipment.

Home Theater on a college student budget

Search this Thread

Old 06-14-00, 10:25 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Being a college student, I don't have a whole lot of extra cash to throw into a nice home theater. With what I can scrap up, I think my best bet is a system in the price range of $500- $700. If anyone has some suggestions on a complete package (receiver, speakers, and subwoofer), I'd love to hear it. And I know I should save up some more money and really invest in some high-end equipment, but I just want something that sounds good and will get me through these college years.

------------------
-----------------------
"Mein fuhrer, I can walk!"
Old 06-14-00, 11:12 PM

At best buy they have a panasonic complete home theather with a built in dvd player in the receiver and it has dolby digital too! It has a sub and center rears and front speakers. If this isnt a good deal then what is. It cost 600.00 dollars. Is that what you were looking for?
Old 06-14-00, 11:16 PM

neo247,

Thanks, I'll look into that. I'm still open for other suggestions also. Anyone heard good things about Kenwood's HTB's?
Old 06-14-00, 11:26 PM
DVD Talk Ultimate Edition

i got Sony's DAV-s300... dts receiver and dvd player all in one and comes with 5 speakers and the sub... easy as hell to setup.... its like the panasonic one but 100 dollars cheaper and its smaller.

------------------
------------
Mark Jones
My new website

My small, slowly but surely expanding DVD collection
Old 06-15-00, 12:42 AM
Retired

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I picked up a sony str-de835 and a sony s-something-315 speaker package for under 600 at Sears a couple weeks ago. Had a sale, plus 6 months same as cash and I got an extra 10% off on the receiver b/c it was a floor model.

------------------