DVD & Home Theater Gear Discuss DVD and Home Theater Equipment.

Banana Plugs to 3.5 or 6.3mm Headphone Jack Adapter?

Old 02-20-08, 10:24 PM

Banana Plugs to 3.5 or 6.3mm Headphone Jack Adapter?

It's been a while since I posted here, but I have always found solid advice so here's my question: Is there an adapter that will let me use headphones w/ a 3.5 or 6.3mm headphone to connect directly to the banana plugs on the back of my receiver? If you need more info, please ask. Thanks in advance.

Last edited by Zim Hosein; 02-20-08 at 10:29 PM.
Old 02-21-08, 02:01 AM
DVD Talk Gold Edition

I'm no expert, but the banana plug outputs on your amp are for passive speakers only, while headphones are active speakers. I think. At least that's how it is with subs. Subs with bare wire connectors are passive, while ones with rca plugs are active.
Why not just use the headphone out jack on the front of the amp, or a 2-rca to 3.5mm adaptor cable on the rca output of the amp?
Old 02-21-08, 02:21 AM
DVD Talk Platinum Edition

Banana Plugs are for speaker wires dude!
Old 02-23-08, 11:06 PM

Originally Posted by fmian
I'm no expert, but the banana plug outputs on your amp are for passive speakers only, while headphones are active speakers. I think. At least that's how it is with subs. Subs with bare wire connectors are passive, while ones with rca plugs are active.
Why not just use the headphone out jack on the front of the amp, or a 2-rca to 3.5mm adaptor cable on the rca output of the amp?