Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > DVD & Home Theater Gear
Reload this Page >

So im (oficially) building this stand...but

DVD & Home Theater Gear Discuss DVD and Home Theater Equipment.

Old 12-22-07, 06:34 PM
DVD Talk Special Edition

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

O finally a culmination of my previous threads has produced this product..its a stand from Ikea that I have decided to building myself since shipping from Ikea is $300 and having it built would cost me $600.

I took a look at the sheets of wood at Lowes and I might be able to get this all out of a single sheet for only $50 (for the sheet)

here is the stand at Ikea Here

Here is an example of what someone did Here

Q: First of all what would you think about which type of wood? I looked at Oak and Birch...the Oak has a natural grain to it and doesn't do a bad job soaking in stain... not sure about the birch.

Q: Stain or laminates? I'm thinking Stain since it seems easy, but im not a stain expert..

Q: All of the wood sheets I have been seeing are 4x8 or so, but are like 1/2 or 3/4 inch think...that stand in the pic looks like 1.5 to 1.75 inch think...what do you think they did to achieve that...was the wood actually cut to that size?

Q: Geometric angles like in the pic? Or put some molding on it?

It should turn out well, so we'll see...I'm hanging the tv Tues and then ill have my measurements once I can see it hanging...

Last edited by DigitalDuck; 12-22-07 at 06:36 PM.
Old 12-22-07, 10:14 PM
DVD Talk Special Edition

I would say stain over laminate, looks much cleaner in my opinion. I also like molding it is simple and not really fancy and over the top.
Old 12-22-07, 10:22 PM

Q: Stain or laminates? I'm thinking Stain since it seems easy, but im not a stain expert..
Laminate is to upgrade the appearance of an otherwise unattractive material. If you go with laminate, then oak/birch underneath is wasted money.