Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > DVD & Home Theater Gear
Reload this Page >

Buying a New Home - Should I "Finish" the Basement Now or Later?

DVD & Home Theater Gear Discuss DVD and Home Theater Equipment.

Old 12-12-07, 08:44 AM
DVD Talk Gold Edition

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

So my wife and I just got married this past October and now we are looking to buy a home (in the NOVA area). We have narrowed down our search and it will likely be a "new build." So now we have options, all of which effect the price, of course.

We want to have home theater in the basement at some point, but cost is a huge concern. Is there any benefit to having a basement "finished" during the building process (cost or otherwise)? Is this something I can do on my own, perhaps cheaper and more customized to our tastes later down the line? I have zero experience, but I'm willing to learn by doing.

At this point in time my "home theater" consists of a 42" Panny plasma, a Pioneer VSX 1015tx receiver, low-end Polk Audio speakers and a Definitive Technology sub. Since I don't have the equipment to make a really rockin' theater right now, I'm not in too much of a hurry. But I'd hate to be kicking myself in the future saying "Why didn't I do all this in the first place?!"
Old 12-12-07, 08:48 AM
DVD Talk Ultimate Edition

builders usually charge way more money to finish a basement than it would cost you to hire someone after and way way more than it would cost you on you own.
Old 12-12-07, 08:55 AM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 11 Likes on 8 Posts
My basement went unfinished in my home for 18 years.

When we decided to build a theater, I was able to plan and hire a contractor to do things exactly as I wanted them done.

It is unlikely that the builder of a new house would allow you to run speaker cable, video cable, cat 5 cable, conduit, add lighting, dimmer switches, build risers or add other custom details.