Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > DVD & Home Theater Gear
Reload this Page >

Another receiver discussion thread? You betcha! HDMI related

Community
Search
DVD & Home Theater Gear Discuss DVD and Home Theater Equipment.

Search this Thread

Old 03-23-07, 11:13 AM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Okay, so I'm supporting both HD DVD and Blu-ray, and will continue to do so as long as both are producing product. I'm now at a point to where I want to upgrade my receiver so I can hear glorious HD audio.

I've heard Uncompressed PCM on BD when I had the Samsung unit and was blown away. But now I own only a PS3, so getting a good HDMI receiver is now a priority. I also own the Toshiba A1, so I could still achieve TrueHD with the analogs. I'm no audio expert, but I gotta have my PCM. DD sounds good at 640 kbps, but I want the full experience.

I'd like to get something for under $500 if possible. There are 2 receivers that fit my budget. The Onkyo 604 and the Panasonic 57. Both pass audio via HDMI, but the Panny only has 1 in and 1 out, I think. Onkyo is 2/1?

My Sony TV has 1 HDMI, 2 component. A1-HDMI, PS3-HDMI

Is their a receiver for under $500 that will work with my setup?
Old 03-23-07, 11:51 AM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
There is the thread on the Onkyo 604 in the HD section... Its a great reciever and I know a couple of the HD/BD people are using it. There is also the Onkyo 674 which transfers everrything through HDMI so you could have one connection to your TV. I think its right around $500. I got the 604 for around $350? I cant remember now.
Old 03-23-07, 12:03 PM
DVD Talk Hero

Received 49 Likes on 38 Posts
The previous 5 page thread concerning this exact subject would satisfy your questions.
Old 03-23-07, 07:43 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
You can get the onkyo at http://www.crutchfield.com/S-UUJwTnU...onkyo+receiver
for 370 and it will fit your need as it has 2 hdmi in and one out and it also will fit your budget.