Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > DVD & Home Theater Gear
Reload this Page >

New sound technologies on HD-DVD and Blu-Ray worth the upgrade?

Community
Search
DVD & Home Theater Gear Discuss DVD and Home Theater Equipment.

Search this Thread

Old 03-07-07, 02:50 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I just went ahead and bought my first HDTV, and will prolly take the plunge into the hd dvd world within year's end. I was just wondering if an upgrade to the sound system is worth it. Currently, I have a HTIB from RCA (few years old), 5.1 sound with DD and DTS. I would be upgrading to a Onkyo 7.1 HTIB. Do all the sound technologies on the new HD discs warrant an upgrade to the system? I really dont want to have to do another upgrade within a few years if I were to go with the Onkyo.

Again, I'm a beginner with this stuff, what are they key aspects of the sound system that I should be looking for? thanks for any help.
Old 03-07-07, 03:16 PM
DVD Talk Ultimate Edition

you need to figure out if you can pass lossless audio through the system. if it has hdmi 1.2a (i think) it will pass lossless audio. it wont decode it, but if the player decodes it the receiver will pass it and you will hear it.

honestly though, i would worry about high def audio if you are buying a HTIB. I hope that doesnt sound "dicky".
Old 03-07-07, 09:50 PM
DVD Talk Limited Edition

Frankly, I would say the DD/DTS on your DVDs is worth an upgrade to your sound system. Get a system with 5.1 analog inputs and you won't have any issues with any new sound for many years to come. You can always get a player that decodes the sound.
Old 03-08-07, 09:07 AM
DVD Talk Gold Edition

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Originally Posted by Spiky
Frankly, I would say the DD/DTS on your DVDs is worth an upgrade to your sound system. Get a system with 5.1 analog inputs and you won't have any issues with any new sound for many years to come. You can always get a player that decodes the sound.