DVD Talk Forum

DVD Talk Forum (https://forum.dvdtalk.com/)
-   DVD & Home Theater Gear (https://forum.dvdtalk.com/dvd-home-theater-gear-5/)
-   -   Newbie here- help (https://forum.dvdtalk.com/dvd-home-theater-gear/482954-newbie-here-help.html)

robyv1 11-07-06 06:09 PM

Newbie here- help

Hi all,
I've heard so much about this site and the people in it. I need your help. I just received my HDA1 from amazon for a 399 price tag which I'm so happy about. I connected it and watched 3 movies so far with my wife and son. WE received Costantine, Batman, corpse Bride, Serenity.

We watched Serenity, Batman and Constantine on my HDTV Sony 42we655 LCD.

I expected t see maybe 4-6 times of a knowck out picture experience and what i saw was maybe a super duper DVD. Maybe my tv stinks or something is wrong. My previous DVD player was an upconverting one. It was a Panasonic DVD-S97. Even my wife thinks it's the same but I notice it's a little nicer. Here's my connection type and probs;

Setting:
Connected via HDMI- set it up at 16*9 picture on hd-a1 player, HD-A1 states 1080i- tried 720 but looked the same. Got my 2.0 upgraded firmware

1. The 3 movies I watched still had the black bars on top and bottom...
2. Why does the picture look good but not the WOW as many others have
stated...
3. Nt worried about sound- just picture. looks great as a great DVD. MAybe expecting too much I guess. Just looks great but not wow. Anyone have this same tv? Whats wrong.

My wife's ready to kill me because I spent this much when picture looks like a dvd or little better...

Premise 11-07-06 08:33 PM

Constatine,and Serenity(2:35) are supposed to have the black bars, and Batman (1:85) may have small black bars if your tv has no overscan. These were the hd-dvds,and not standard dvds correct?

mrhan 11-07-06 10:10 PM