DVD Talk Forum

DVD Talk Forum (https://forum.dvdtalk.com/)
-   DVD & Home Theater Gear (https://forum.dvdtalk.com/dvd-home-theater-gear-5/)
-   -   New system nightmare (https://forum.dvdtalk.com/dvd-home-theater-gear/477920-new-system-nightmare.html)

mhh 09-17-06 05:46 AM

New system nightmare

Hi, newbie here. I hope you might help me...

I'm a longstanding B&O customer but I thought I would try something new for my beachside weekend apartment. I visited a local hifi store about a year ago and asked them if they could provide a decent sized LCD screen with a Bose 48 and have the system work off a single remote. They said that would be easy using a Pronto remote. They sold me a Sharp 45 and the whole thing looked great when installed. When they came to turn it on, the problems started. Basically, they couldn't get the Pronto to work properly. The delays weren't programmed correctly and the devices would operate in the right sequence with a myriad of consequences (turning off instead of on, screen freezes, sound without picture, picture without sound, STB freezing, etc etc). They have replaced the Digitalview STB once but it is still freezing and needs a reboot every day I've tried to watch TV.

The original salesman made several visits to get it working, but couldn't program it properly. He resigned and over several months I have had several other people in from the store (including the store manager) to attempt to fix it. Now after 2 guys spent all Friday afternoon on the job, it didn't work the first time I tried to switch from DVD to TV. I have little technical aptitude at the level required to program the Pronto myself and my wife is demanding that I junk the whole system and get the B&O that I should have in the first place. I thought I was being smart doing it this way, but it has cost me thousands of dollars in lost time.