Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > DVD & Home Theater Gear
Reload this Page >

Question about splitting a cable line and signal strength

DVD & Home Theater Gear Discuss DVD and Home Theater Equipment.

Old 05-05-06, 12:21 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Not sure if this is the right forum for this, but here goes. I'm not that tech savvy...

I've lived in an apt for a few years now. It's a regular house, not a complex or anything. My landlord gave me a coax line through my ceiling (his floor) for my TV. I'm assuming he used a splitter to do this.

I recently bought a computer and asked them if I could get high-speed internet for it. They said no problem, they had to order it since the cable is in their name. So they get the box from the cable company and give it to me and I install it myself in my apt. Not sure if it matters, but they have no computer.

I split the one coax I have and hooked up the cable modem. However, the signal strength was weak (web pages were loading very slowly). So instead of splitting the coax, I just put it directly into the modem. That made a world of difference as now I have true high-speed Cable internet. I guess it's possible to split a line too many times?

So now the issue is would I need a 2nd coax line split into my apt just for my TV/DVD/VCR setup, since I want to leave the original coax cable plugged into my cable modem?

Would this be relatively easy to do for my landlord?

Sorry for the long read, thanks for any thoughts and opinions...
Old 05-05-06, 01:02 PM
DVD Talk Special Edition

Originally Posted by Crazy_Roper
Not sure if this is the right forum for this, but here goes. I'm not that tech savvy...

I've lived in an apt for a few years now. It's a regular house, not a complex or anything. My landlord gave me a coax line through my ceiling (his floor) for my TV. I'm assuming he used a splitter to do this.