DVD Talk Forum

DVD Talk Forum (https://forum.dvdtalk.com/)
-   DVD & Home Theater Gear (https://forum.dvdtalk.com/dvd-home-theater-gear-5/)
-   -   Surround sound systems in condos/apartments (https://forum.dvdtalk.com/dvd-home-theater-gear/447238-surround-sound-systems-condos-apartments.html)

Vision of Love 12-01-05 12:25 AM

Surround sound systems in condos/apartments

Have you had any neighbours complain about loud sound coming from your suite? How much do your neighbours really hear?

I just got a surround sound system and my subwoofer worries me sometimes. I notice the subwoofer more than the surround speaker units. I want to crank it up during action films but I'm worried we'd hear a knock on our door with a complaint.

Thoughts?

Edit: I'm a newbie to the HT forum so I'm not sure if this has been discussed before!

eedoon 12-01-05 12:46 AM

I myself love to play movies and music at loud volumes. I have heard complains, but then I moved my equipment to a relatively soundproofed room (not that soundproof, but it's quite all right to block most of the noise) and I don't hear talk about noises anymore.

chipmac 12-01-05 03:44 AM

A sub's LFE will be heard and felt more than the volume of the other speakers in nearby rooms. I try to be considerate of the time of day of night that I crank it up but another useful method is to make friends with the neighbors and invite them over for a movie once in a while. If you're friendly with them they might not complain so much on the occasions you're listening alone. When all else fails just turn the sub down or off when you know they're home or it's late at night.

FantasticVSDoom 12-01-05 06:07 AM