DVD & Home Theater Gear Discuss DVD and Home Theater Equipment.

Using Voom receiver for OTA HD?

Old 09-30-05, 12:23 PM

Using Voom receiver for OTA HD?

Hi. I am new to Voom, and was looking for a little info on the issue that I am having. I bought 2 Voom receivers hoping I can use them for OTA HD use. After hooking one of the boxes up I gained access the "Install Wizard" and tried to scan for locals, but instead of the scanning the whole screen just blinks. This will keep on happening until I press back. I also tried to "Aim Antenna", but that doesn't do anything either.

Secure Firmware:V16
Current Software 02.4C
HAL Version: 00.07.37
Middleware Version: 01.45.02

I hope someone can give me some info.
Old 10-02-05, 10:12 AM
DVD Talk Hero

Originally Posted by Chip718
Hi. I am new to Voom, and was looking for a little info on the issue that I am having. I bought 2 Voom receivers hoping I can use them for OTA HD use. After hooking one of the boxes up I gained access the "Install Wizard" and tried to scan for locals, but instead of the scanning the whole screen just blinks. This will keep on happening until I press back. I also tried to "Aim Antenna", but that doesn't do anything either.

Secure Firmware:V16
Current Software 02.4C
HAL Version: 00.07.37
Middleware Version: 01.45.02

I hope someone can give me some info.
The unit has to be able to scan for channels for it to work in your area. Not sure if you got bad units or you are not going thru the rights steps to scan channel.

Everything I have read says you first go to aim antanna. Make sure you type in the RF fequency NOT the actual channel. Then physically aim your antenna to give you the best signal, then move on to scan for local channels.

I pretty sure the firmware version you have (7.37) is the last version there is and should be able to scan for channels.