Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > DVD & Home Theater Gear
Reload this Page >

looking to get a new system

Community
Search
DVD & Home Theater Gear Discuss DVD and Home Theater Equipment.

Search this Thread

Old 09-21-05, 07:28 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

hello all im a bit new to all this, and was hoping you might be able to help

looking to get a new system, dont want loads of speakers or anything, and something easy to use and set up wuld be ideal, as im no audiophile.

ive seen two that i like, the bose 321 (although i have heard they are naff)
and the sony dav-x1, which looks pretty good (and they are doing a cashback offer with a new tv)

has anybody heard or seen either of these, got any oppinions etc, im always dubious of site and mag reviews,
please help
Old 09-21-05, 09:00 AM
DVD Talk Limited Edition

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Well, how big is your room? Everyone seems to think BOSE is overrated.

What are you looking for?
Receiver and speakers?
TV?
DVD player?
Old 09-21-05, 10:02 AM
DVD Talk Limited Edition

These front-speakers-only systems mentioned aren't much better to my ears than the 2-channel-surround systems built into a lot of TVs, DVD players, and other sources. Unless you need more volume than the TV can handle, if you have such a 2-channel-surround option you may just be tossing money to buy another.