DVD Talk Forum

DVD Talk Forum (https://forum.dvdtalk.com/)
-   DVD & Home Theater Gear (https://forum.dvdtalk.com/dvd-home-theater-gear-5/)
-   -   I need DVD player recommendations (https://forum.dvdtalk.com/dvd-home-theater-gear/412616-i-need-dvd-player-recommendations.html)

Professor Frink 03-04-05 06:05 PM

I need DVD player recommendations

It's time to get a new player, but I need help picking a good one. Here's what's important to me:<ul>
<li>Under $125.
<li>Reliable -- one that doesn't have any track record of not playing disks. My old one <u>never</u> had a play problem, and I want to keep that up.
<li>Progressive scan (?) -- I have no experience with this, but if it really is all that, then I should get a player with it.
<li>Speedy fast-forward. My old one went up to 100x, and that is very useful sometimes.
<li>Able to play all formats (CD-R, CD-RW, DVD+/-R, DVD+/-RW, VCD, SVCD). And if it can also handle picture disks, that's an added bonus, but not essential.
<li>Able to pick up playing right where I left off after powering it up again. I've seen players that revert back to the beginning of the disk after turning the player off, and that's a no go.
</ul>

I guess that's it. Any suggestions?

emhello 03-04-05 06:25 PM

I tried getting a cheaper player in your price range and ended up taking back THREE. They were all very reputable name brands but all ended up skipping on a lot of my DVDs. I eventually got a more expensive Pioneer Elite player ($300-400) and it has yet to skip on ANY format. It was worth the $$ for my peace of mind.

visitor Q 03-04-05 07:41 PM

My Pioneer 578A does a pretty good job.

Pioneer 578A

It does the following:

DVD-Video/Audio/DVD-R/RW (compatible w?CPRM) SACD/CD/CD-R/CD-RW/Video CD

.. and can be had for about $100 if you search around.

My observations (don't use progressive scanning as I only have a 27" Sony flat screen (but it does have it) .. and have not tried SACD feature):

1) superquick navigation