Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > DVD & Home Theater Gear
Reload this Page >

What's the best deal on getting HDTV channels and/or digital satellite?

DVD & Home Theater Gear Discuss DVD and Home Theater Equipment.

Old 02-09-05, 02:24 PM

I have a Panasonic AE500 projector. I guess I am ready to jump on the bandwagon and get a dish. But I want to have as many HDTV channels especially the discovery channel. What exactly do I need equipment wise , and what is the best deal for this type of service? I heard Voom has tons of channels. But I am really new to this since I have only been watching dvds all these years and never even had cable.... all this in order to catch up with movie watching.
Old 02-09-05, 02:40 PM
DVD Talk Hall of Fame

Voom does have tons of HD channels, including lots of narrowcast channels; you can check their lineup on their website.
I have heard they only have like 26000 customers, and they just got bought [or are being bought] by another company, so if you went with them, they might not have a lot of longevity, so I wouldn't pay a lot to get started. I think they have a deal now with free or 1.00 install if you get the VaVaVoom package which is like 80/month.
Have you looked at your cable company? My cable company gave me the HD DVR for no additional cost over the regular digital cable box [and of course the 7.95/mo. DVR fee, almost all dvr's charge a fee.] They have a regular HD box as well which can be gotten for the same as the regular digital box. HD networks, Disc HD, included; HD Suite [HDNet 1 and 2, HDNet Movies 1 and 2] for like 7/mo extra, and SHO and/or HBO HD if you have HBO or SHO.
I've been out of satellite for a while, so I can't help with that.
Old 02-09-05, 04:15 PM

thanks for the info
Old 02-09-05, 06:06 PM
DVD Talk Limited Edition

I've got the HD-DVR via Adelphia (CBS, NBC, ABC, ESPN, PBS & HBO).. it costs me around $9 more then before.

I would think Dish will add more HD soon if at all possible.