Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > DVD & Home Theater Gear
Reload this Page >

Any reviews of the new Sony 420's yet?

Community
Search
DVD & Home Theater Gear Discuss DVD and Home Theater Equipment.

Search this Thread

Old 07-09-04, 05:47 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I just purchased a 36HS420 HDTV, but it won't arrive til next week. Anyone have any opinions yet? I keep reading that HDTVs like this one aren't so good on regular cable, so any insight about this too is also appreciated.
Old 07-09-04, 05:55 PM
DVD Talk Limited Edition

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I just got mine today (replacement of a defective 510). Haven't had a chance to mess with it much as of yet, but can give an update tomorrow or Sunday. Also received my Onkyo HTIB today as well, and I'm all excited about getting that hooked up ASAP.
Old 07-09-04, 06:16 PM

Thanks Shagrath, looking forward to your review.
Since I'm new to this type of TV, if anyone wants to share their calibration settings for this model, I'd be really interested. I keep reading about these calibration disks, so perhaps I'll get one if you guys recommend it.
Old 07-09-04, 06:41 PM
DVD Talk Gold Edition

i'm new to this as well. i just got the 34hs420 delivered... and it is so beautiful

xbox looks fantastic on it!

i calibrated the tv w/ sound and visions's dvd but honestly, it looked fine before.

i did have to adjust the tilt a little. but out of the box, it looks pretty good.

i would like to figure out how to lessen some of the overscan. if anyone knows how, please post. if i find out how, i will reply.
Old 07-12-04, 11:27 AM
DVD Talk Limited Edition

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I received my 36HS420 on Friday. It was a replacement for a defective 36HS510 (speakers made an intermittent popping sound). As far as PQ goes, I think this set is at least as good as the 510, although I haven't received my DVE dvd to fully calibrate yet.