Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > DVD & Home Theater Gear
Reload this Page >

Help selecting a new HDTV.

Community
Search
DVD & Home Theater Gear Discuss DVD and Home Theater Equipment.

Search this Thread

Old 03-01-03, 01:35 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I'm pretty new to this HT business so I've been trying to do some research on what'll make me happy. I've decided on a direct view HD ~32" TV. I'd like a 16:9 set, but realized that I don't really watch enough movies in that format to justify spending the extra money for it. The sets that I've found at the local stores are listed below. I'm hoping to stay below the $1500 range, but if someone can convince me I may be willing to dish out more. The set will be used in a medium sized room (around 300-400sqft) for casual TV, DVD and video game usage. It would probably break down to 80%, 5%, 15%. I also don't have digital cable right now. Will analog make my TV look like crap?

Right now I have no other components, I'm starting the house from scratch and decided to get the TV first.

Choice 1: Panny CT32HX42 $1,299. I've heard some negative comments about this set, but the picture looked good in the store.

Choice 2: Sony KV32HS500 $1,299. I've searched for this set, and haven't found too many negative comments, besides something about the geometry. I'm not too sure what that is yet, but it is a little worrisome.

Choice 3: Panny CT34WX52 $1,999. I know its way above my price and I don't watch too many movies in that format, but it just looks so darn good.

I'd like other suggestions. I haven't found too many Toshiba's around so I can't really shop for those.

Thanks a lot.

BTW: Is there a major difference between Avia and VE? Or will either work just as well?
Old 03-01-03, 02:04 PM