DVD Talk Forum

DVD Talk Forum (https://forum.dvdtalk.com/)
-   DVD & Home Theater Gear (https://forum.dvdtalk.com/dvd-home-theater-gear-5/)
-   -   Panasonic Widescreen HDTV 47" or 53" ? (https://forum.dvdtalk.com/dvd-home-theater-gear/260026-panasonic-widescreen-hdtv-47-53-a.html)

Petra 12-27-02 11:24 PM

Panasonic Widescreen HDTV 47" or 53" ?

Hi, a home theater newbie here.

I finally decided to take a plunge and get my very first decent TV :)

I am still debating which one. I really really want the bigger one but I only have 6 feet viewing distance, no matter how I rearrange my furniture. How will the picture look on 53" - is it too close? I went to Best Buy, Sears etc. but it is really hard to determine picture quality with store lightning, the way they set up their displays etc.
Does anyone have 53" monitor - how close do you sit?

Also, when it comes to price - should I wait when old models go on sale? Best Buy has 53" for $1900 and 47" for $1700. Does anyone know if there is a chance of sales any time soon ( 2 -3 months) since I am not in a hurry?

I want to add that thanks to this and other forums I purchased Panasonic DVD player RP82 and I am very happy with it - now I only need a better TV to go with it :)

Thank you for any ideas.

PhYbEr 12-27-02 11:31 PM

I have to 53" and I sit about 6-7 feet away and its very nice.. It seems to be a great distance.. I have the RP82 also, very nice together...

hurtz777 12-28-02 09:30 AM

I have a Toshiba 57" Widescreen HDTV hooked up to a RP82 and sit 7 ft away, and the picture is amazingly 3D and I love the big theater feel by sitting that close. Scan lines are rarely visible even at that close distance. Get the 53" because you will regret it in the long run if you don't. I was going to get the Toshiba 50", but I am glad I decided on the 57" because it really is that much bigger and better.

JimRochester 12-28-02 01:10 PM