DVD & Home Theater Gear Discuss DVD and Home Theater Equipment.

TV Surround Sound Question

Old 12-08-02, 06:16 PM
DVD Talk Hall of Fame

TV Surround Sound Question

I know that there is somebody out there who can help me with this.............

I have a Pioneer VSX-D409 multi-channel receiver and a 52" Hitachi Projection television. I am trying to set up a good surround sound experience for football games, auto racing etc. The users manual is no help at all.

I have very little experience setting up home theatre equipment. I would just like a good set-up that will give me noticeble sound coming from all five channels (particularly the rear channels). Right now, I have both the front and rear speakers plugged into the front speaker inputs -- I know this is wrong but it the only way I have been able to get rear sound.

Is there anyone out there in our little community that can give me step by step instructions? I know this is a pain-in-the-ass but if anyone has the know-how and some extra time on their hands i would appreciate it greatly.

Thanks,

BBP
Old 12-08-02, 06:34 PM
DVD Talk Legend

I think you are under a misconception that just because you have rear speakers that sound should always be coming from them. The surround speakers are meant to convey sound that is designed to come from the back of the room. You should not be hearing, for example, the voices of people who appear on-screen coming from behind your head. Usually what you will hear from the rear speakers are ambient noises or music, or in the cases of some movies sound effects that are directed to the back of the room (bullets ricocheting in an action movie, etc.). Many television programs, especially live events, will have no surround at all. Something like a football game will usually have the sounds of the audience cheering coming from all speakers, though.