Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > DVD & Home Theater Gear
Reload this Page >

Samsung 47" or Panasonic 47" RPTV?

Community
Search
DVD & Home Theater Gear Discuss DVD and Home Theater Equipment.

Search this Thread

Old 10-03-02, 04:10 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

At Best Buy, the Samsung HCL4715W is $1699 and the Panasonic PT-47WX42 is $1599. Both seem to have the same options. Anyone here have a recommendation or personal experience with either of these? I'm leaning to the Samsung simply because it is 1.6" less deep and about 22 lbs lighter.
Old 10-04-02, 06:58 AM
DVD Talk Gold Edition

I own the 47" Panny so I might be a little biased but it will be a little easier to find information and tweaks for the Panny. I have no experience with that Samsung but I've been happy with my Panny for over a year now. You can visit www.panny.tv for more info on the Panny. Good Luck!
Old 10-04-02, 08:32 AM
DVD Talk Platinum Edition

We sell the Panasonic at work, and I must say it is quite nice. Aside from some of the newer large Hitatchi TVs, Panasonic still makes the best tv's
Old 10-04-02, 03:16 PM

BMELLO or DISCOST,

Have you personally witnessed any burn-in problem on the Panny? How is the stretch mode? I prefer native 4:3 but fear burn-in damage. Might watch 2-3 hours of full screen tv per day which from what I've been reading would likely cause burn-in if I don't use stretch.
Old 10-04-02, 05:23 PM

toy story dvd menu burned into ours after a few days, so dont leave the same thing on all day Otherwise no problems yet at all....But i'd use a wide screen mode, instead of 4:3...4:3 just bugs me on those tvs.
Old 10-04-02, 08:48 PM

So Discost, did someones butt get chewed for leaving Toy Story DVD Menu on for days? What good is the TV then? Who would buy it after it has burn in? Do you have to have the guns or screen replaced? I not sure what component actually gets damaged when burn in occurs but I'm sure it's not cheap to replace.
Old 10-04-02, 09:04 PM