DVD & Home Theater Gear Discuss DVD and Home Theater Equipment.

Need Some Help Connecting Up!!

Old 10-03-02, 02:59 AM
DVD Talk Special Edition

Need Some Help Connecting Up!!

I was hoping someone could take just a second to help me out.

I finally got around to purchases a receiver and speaker set.

The only problem is, being a novice, I have no idea what to connect to what.

The components I am hooking up are:

TV
DVD Player
Receiver

All of which I was told I should hook up using 'compotent'.

Tell me if this is right......

1. COMPONENT VIDEO OUT (TV) -- connects to -- COMPONENT VIDEO IN (Receiver)

2. COMPENENT VIDEO OUT (DVD) -- connects to -- COMPONENT VIDEO IN (Receiver)

3. DIGITAL OUT (DVD) -- connents to -- DIGITAL IN (Receiver)

Up to this point I believe I am ok. If I am correct #1 and #2 handle the video and #3 handles the audio from the DVD player.

This is where I am lost. How do I connect the audio from the TV to the Receiver?

Is there anything else you might mention? What might I be doing wrong, or less than optimal?
Old 10-03-02, 05:09 AM
Uber Member

Not sure of your setup, and I really need to go to sleep so this will be fast but....

I assume you're trying to watch TV and DVD and have audio come through your receiver.

If you have your cable connected to your TV, then you should already be able to watch cable. There should be an audio out on your TV with left and right jacks. This should go to the TV in on the receiver. Now, when you select TV on the receiver, you should be able to hear your cable channels.