DVD Talk Forum

DVD Talk Forum (https://forum.dvdtalk.com/)
-   DVD & Home Theater Gear (https://forum.dvdtalk.com/dvd-home-theater-gear-5/)
-   -   Need suggestion for decent progessive scan player under $200 (https://forum.dvdtalk.com/dvd-home-theater-gear/240839-need-suggestion-decent-progessive-scan-player-under-%24200.html)

wildcatlh 10-02-02 01:37 PM

Need suggestion for decent progessive scan player under $200

Okay, my parents just got a nice, widescreen, HDTV. Knowing them, they'll be prone to get a cheapo, non progressive scan DVD player and connect it with the composite cables, so I figured I'd pick them up as a present a progressive scan player and some nice component cables to hook it up with.

The latter is already in my possession. As for the DVD player, that I need tips on. I'm trying to stay under $200, since, well, I'm a college student, and don't have too much in the way of cash.

Thanks. (while you're at it, also need to figure out a fairly cheap player I wanna get for the bedroom in my house, but that's not pressing or anything)

DJ_Longfellow 10-02-02 01:59 PM

I'm looking for this too, and from the research i have done:

Panasonic RP-62 seems to be a favorite (~$140)
Panasonic RP-82 upgrade of the 62, i guess it is similiar to the RP91, not sure if it's exactly worth the extra $$$$. (~$210)

Sony 715 seems to be decent also.

Toshiba 3800 is another option, but not sure how great that is.

I was also trying to find out about the Pioneer 656A?! It can be had for around $170, and i know most Pioneer electronics are good, but i have not heard too much about the DVD player.

Panasonic seems to be the best bet though (considering i know nothing about the Pioneer player)

bullrat 10-02-02 02:05 PM

Hey WildcatLH,