DVD & Home Theater Gear Discuss DVD and Home Theater Equipment.

Advice on Home Sound System?

Old 09-30-02, 05:16 AM

Advice on Home Sound System?

Hi

Complete Newbie on DVD Hardware so forgive me if my questions sound simple.

At the moment i have an LG DVD Player and Widescreen TV.
But i am dissapointed with the sound i am getting from the TV'no matter what settings i use/change.

So i am looking to maybe buy an external speaker system.
This is what i am asking advice on.

I am a little confused as to what i need or whats best.
Just speakers or some sort of decoder device and speakers??
Also wether i fit the external equipment to the box or tv?

Thanx
Old 09-30-02, 07:29 AM
DVD Talk Legend

Good info in the FAQ up at the top!

http://www.dvdtalk.com/forum/showthr...hreadid=165672
Old 09-30-02, 07:59 AM

I thats the part about how to setup the Speakers and Sub?

If so i don't even know what a Sub is and don't have any speakers yet.
Old 09-30-02, 08:22 AM
DVD Talk Legend

http://www.crutchfield.com/download/...tAsB/HTIG.html

Here are some PDF setup guides
Old 09-30-02, 10:19 AM

thanx
Old 09-30-02, 12:40 PM
DVD Talk Gold Edition

If and when you decide to start building your HT (and there is a VAST improvement with a HT over just the TV speakers), the next step is to set a realistic budget. IMO, about the minimum you can do is $1200 for the receiver and speakers. There are home theater in a box systems that can be had for less, but (again, IMO) you're better off saving for awhile longer to expand the budget. You'll be happier with the purchase down the road. From there, costs can escalate quickly into tens of thousands, if you have the means. They don't have to, and, unless you're a die-hard audiophile, there may not be much point in spending such a large amount on your system. Besides, there's nothing that says you can't upgrade again later.