DVD & Home Theater Gear Discuss DVD and Home Theater Equipment.

I Want a NEW DVD PLAYER! Help me pick one!

Old 07-12-02, 11:01 AM

I Want a NEW DVD PLAYER! Help me pick one!

I am currently using a Panasonic RV-30 DVD player. I've been using it for about 2 years and have played 100's of dvds and rentals perfectly on it. I plan on giving it to a cousin soon for his 9th Birthday because I want to upgrade to a player with more features. I am mainly looking for a good player for under $200 with the same if not better picture and CD player quality of my RV30. I would also love a player that can play CD-Rs, CD-RWs, VCDs, SVCDs. As a bonus I wold really love it to play MPEGs (well), JPEGS slide shows, DVD-Audio would be great, DVD-R, DVD-RW/RW+ for the future. I hear some APEXs can do most of this stuff, but is that quality comparable to that of my Panasonic? I also need it to have an optical digital audio out and at least RCA/Composite AND Component video outputs. Can you guys help me out? Any review or links to review would be great. Thanks in advance.
Old 07-12-02, 12:53 PM
DVD Talk Platinum Edition

Seems like I've seen bad things about Apex products, and here's a fairly recent review of one of their DVD players that has JPEG-viewing ability:

http://www.techtv.com/products/print...375336,00.html

As you can see, not so good.

Here's a PC World review of a $179 (list) Sampo dvd player that can play JPEGs through an incorporated CF slot:

http://www.pcworld.com/reviews/artic...d,90663,00.asp

Here's another review (IGN) of the Sampo player that seems to indcate it will play JPEGs from either CF card OR disc:

http://gear.ign.com/articles/316126p1.html