Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > DVD & Home Theater Gear
Reload this Page >

Reciever/TV hookup question

DVD & Home Theater Gear Discuss DVD and Home Theater Equipment.

Old 06-09-02, 09:12 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hello there, I am pretty new to the home theatre aspect of dvd watching. My question is I can hear 5.1 sound while watching dvds (I am using an optical cable) but I only sound coming from my front speakers while watching TV. I currently have have audio cables coming out of my speaker out option on the tv and into my tv option on my reciever. My question is how can I get full speaker sound while watching tv, my friend said he hooked his up through his cable box...Im sure someone can help me. If Im too vague just let me know and I can give you more details on my hardware.

Thanks
Old 06-09-02, 10:32 AM
Banned

Instead of running cables from your cable/satellite box to your TV and then to your receiver, run all your cables to your reciever. Then, use the monitor out to run video to your TV. If you can't do this, I'm going to need some more details on what equipment you have.
Old 06-09-02, 08:43 PM
DVD Talk Gold Edition

If you have a satellite box or a cable box and you are not using your TVs speakers, you only need to run a video cable to your TV. Remember, you will only get DD5.1 sound from broadcasts if your Cable Box or DSS receiver supports it and the program is in DD5.1
Old 06-09-02, 10:44 PM
DVD Talk Special Edition

What type of receiver do you have? Out of the box Sony receivers default to two channel stereo mode when watching regular TV, so you may need to change this. Also, the tv source you are watching may not be in Pro Logic, so all you would get is sound from your two fronts.
Old 06-10-02, 12:03 PM
DVD Talk Gold Edition

Originally posted by Bcolon
Also, the tv source you are watching may not be in Pro Logic, so all you would get is sound from your two fronts.
Exactly, the majority of normal broadcasts are not in Pro Logic.