Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > DVD & Home Theater Gear
Reload this Page >

Is the 27" Akai flat screen as good as Sony?

DVD & Home Theater Gear Discuss DVD and Home Theater Equipment.

Old 03-28-02, 12:13 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I've been looking into getting a 27" flat screen t.v. and the other day I found a 27" flat screen Akai t.v. at Sam's club and it looked pretty good. I'm kind of new to buying flat screens, so I was wondering how it compared to Sony's Wega in terms of specs. If I get this Akai it will save me around $200. I just want to make sure I'm not buying a cheap rip-off t.v. If you go to the Sam's club website and search under electronics/t.v.'s you can find the specs for it. Any help would be appreciated.
Old 03-28-02, 03:27 PM
DVD Talk Legend

For those who are interested, here is the direct link to the TV.

You would be buying a cheap rip-off TV. There's a reason that P.O.S. only has a 90 day warranty. It will in no way compare to the Sony Wega. If you want to save a little money but still get good quality, check out the Toshiba flat screens or the Panasonic Tau line. They're about $100 less than the Sony and are both excellent quality.

Last edited by Mr. Salty; 03-28-02 at 03:33 PM.
Old 03-28-02, 03:55 PM
X
Administrator

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Hmm, my Wega only had a 90 day labor warranty as well, and a whole, huge 1 year on parts! And labor is the part that usually costs the most.

I found that to be a statement of their confidence in the set too.
Old 03-28-02, 05:40 PM
DVD Talk Legend

The last Panasonic I bought had a year warranty for both parts and labor. I don't know how they are with their Taus.
Old 03-28-02, 06:03 PM
DVD Talk Special Edition