Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > DVD & Home Theater Gear
Reload this Page >

Pioneer Receiver and Speakers for limited budget

Community
Search
DVD & Home Theater Gear Discuss DVD and Home Theater Equipment.

Search this Thread

Old 01-24-02, 05:51 PM
DVD Talk Special Edition

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hi. I am a broke college student trying to get a home theater system in his apartment. So needless to say, trying to get the best deal is the #1 priority. However, I dont want junk. Best Buy has this Pioneer receiver on sale this week for $199.99. But is it any good? I cant tell from reading the specs. Here is the link though: http://www.bestbuy.com/detail.asp?e=...1&cat=3&scat=4

Now for speakers, Im not sure. I would LOVE to get a 6-piece satellite/subwoofer combo for $200 or less. There is a Yamaha set on their site for $189.92, but it looks like all the satellites are the same size, and that doesnt look good. Is KLH a decent brand?

I also have two kinda old 3-way speakers, could I possible use these two and get a 3 speaker set and then a subwoofer, or should I scrap these 2 completely? Please share your info! Thanks!!
Old 01-25-02, 01:51 AM
0ne

I would go with either this

http://www.bestbuy.com/detail.asp?&b...=1552&scat=242

or this

http://circuitcity.com/ewebIMa/frame...ductsearch.jsp

I have the yamaha in my room, but auditioned that kenwood for my parents living room. If you are on a budget, the second system is better but a bit more expensive and does Dobly pro logic II.

SHop online at pricewatch.com pricescan.com or crazy eddies and you can sometimes save a few hundred.
Old 01-25-02, 08:33 AM
DVD Talk Special Edition