Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > DVD & Home Theater Gear
Reload this Page >

Just dont get it....Some plz explain...[Pan&Scan vs. Widescreen issues]

DVD & Home Theater Gear Discuss DVD and Home Theater Equipment.

Just dont get it....Some plz explain...[Pan&Scan vs. Widescreen issues]

Old 11-09-01, 03:59 PM

Just dont get it....Some plz explain...

Alrighty then, I am totally new to this whole DVD thing. As some of you know we just bought a new Sony DVD and receiver to upgrade our old Pioneer system. Our first movie we watched was Shrek. Loved it, the sound, the picture and all. Now the next movie we put in is the Matrix. Now I guess this a Widescreen version because we have black bars on top and bottom. We have a 27" RCA regular tv..nothing fancy yet...We tried pan scan to get the full screen to no avail. Can it be the DVD player? I enjoy the full screen so much more. Is it that I am not used to the widescreen? Now when I look at the DVD's they are almost all widescreen. Is there anyway to get these full screen or what? What am I missing here? Also thanx for a great forum board everybody.
Old 11-09-01, 04:08 PM
DVD Talk Legend

You will have to get used to widescreen, also known as the Original Aspect Ratio (OAR). Here is a linky link to help explain why widescreen is preferred over "full screen" also known as Pan and Scan. http://www.widescreen.org/ratios.html
Old 11-09-01, 04:10 PM
DVD Talk Hall of Fame

Any information you want about Widescreen is right here.

http://www.widescreen.org/

Remember...
Widescreen =
Pan & Scan =
Old 11-09-01, 04:17 PM

Thanx for the quick replies. I will check out the links now. But my main question is when I change my DVD menu to pan scan, I still have the black bars. That shouldnt be, right???
Also, what does widescreen Anamorphic mean??

Last edited by Pompom2; 11-09-01 at 04:20 PM.
Old 11-09-01, 05:14 PM
DVD Talk Special Edition